Things I Hate to See on Book Covers

We all have some book covers that just completely irritate us and those covers may make us choose to not read that book. Here’s a few of my book cover pet peeves.

1) Strange or obnoxious focal points.

This one might just be me, but if a cover is overly strange I really don’t want to read the book.

2) Covers with the same picture as another book.

This picture double bugs me especially because I like the series of the first book, and even theh face is cut at the same point with a dark background.

3) Covers that look like they have two pictures pasted together.

Again, this might also just be me, but I really don’t like when they put two pictures together like that.

4) Models with with strange expressions.

I know some people agree with this if not most people, because really? I don’t want to see a picture on a cover that you spent five minutes shooting for.

5) Bodies Without Heads

Books with headless people bug me a lot because I think a lot of readers go off of cover art for character faces and if they leave us with a person it makes it difficult if there is no head.

Leave a Reply

