Review: Hereafter

Teaser from barnesandnoble.com
Can there truly be love after death?
Drifting in the dark waters of a mysterious river, the only thing Amelia knows for sure is that she’s dead. With no recollection of her past life—or her actual death—she’s trapped alone in a nightmarish existence. All of this changes when she tries to rescue a boy, Joshua, from drowning in her river. As a ghost, she can do nothing but will him to live. Yet in an unforgettable moment of connection, she helps him survive.
Amelia and Joshua grow ever closer as they begin to uncover the strange circumstances of her death and the secrets of the dark river that held her captive for so long. But even while they struggle to keep their bond hidden from the living world, a frightening spirit named Eli is doing everything in his power to destroy their newfound happiness and drag Amelia back into the ghost world . . . forever.
Thrilling and evocative, with moments of pure pleasure, Hereafter is a sensation you won’t want to miss. 

Reaction
What first comes into mind when I think about this book is the beauty the story actually holds. The characters are lovely and strange at the same time.
This is one of the first times I’ve read a ghost story I’ve enjoyed so much, and it totally reminds me of a version of Twilight almost, but not in the same way


Characters:
Amelia- A lost ghost who can’t remember anything other than her own name, her age, and the fact that she’s dead, until she sees Joshua fall into the river she floats in, and all she can think about is the need to keep him from death too.
Joshua- Falls into a river and dies for a moment before coming back to life and begins to see things he couldn’t before, like Amelia. 
Eli- The ghost that wants to take Amelia as his own and have her be his partner to steel lost souls for his masters.

Review
This is one of the best ghost stories I have ever read.The confusion of the Main character in the beginning and then the emotion and realization of her past life really make this a good book for young readers.  I recommend this book for fans of books such as Twilight, The House of Night series, or other paranormal/romance books.

Story: 88/100
Speed: 78/100
Originality:  85/100  

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s