Monthly Archives: June 2011

Review: Hereafter

Teaser from barnesandnoble.com
Can there truly be love after death?
Drifting in the dark waters of a mysterious river, the only thing Amelia knows for sure is that she’s dead. With no recollection of her past life—or her actual death—she’s trapped alone in a nightmarish existence. All of this changes when she tries to rescue a boy, Joshua, from drowning in her river. As a ghost, she can do nothing but will him to live. Yet in an unforgettable moment of connection, she helps him survive.
Amelia and Joshua grow ever closer as they begin to uncover the strange circumstances of her death and the secrets of the dark river that held her captive for so long. But even while they struggle to keep their bond hidden from the living world, a frightening spirit named Eli is doing everything in his power to destroy their newfound happiness and drag Amelia back into the ghost world . . . forever.
Thrilling and evocative, with moments of pure pleasure, Hereafter is a sensation you won’t want to miss. 

Reaction
What first comes into mind when I think about this book is the beauty the story actually holds. The characters are lovely and strange at the same time.
This is one of the first times I’ve read a ghost story I’ve enjoyed so much, and it totally reminds me of a version of Twilight almost, but not in the same way


Characters:
Amelia- A lost ghost who can’t remember anything other than her own name, her age, and the fact that she’s dead, until she sees Joshua fall into the river she floats in, and all she can think about is the need to keep him from death too.
Joshua- Falls into a river and dies for a moment before coming back to life and begins to see things he couldn’t before, like Amelia. 
Eli- The ghost that wants to take Amelia as his own and have her be his partner to steel lost souls for his masters.

Review
This is one of the best ghost stories I have ever read.The confusion of the Main character in the beginning and then the emotion and realization of her past life really make this a good book for young readers.  I recommend this book for fans of books such as Twilight, The House of Night series, or other paranormal/romance books.

Story: 88/100
Speed: 78/100
Originality:  85/100  

New Covers: Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

I ran across the cover for the second book in the Unearthly series, Hallowed while shifting through Goodreads. I think it is very gorgeous indeed with lighter tones than those of the first book (right) but the same lovely girl and font along with the very nice feather theme!

Giant Promotions Giveaway

Did you know? There’s a give away at Jaged Edge!

Giant Promotions Giveaway

All you have to do is get followers over here because who doesn’t like more friends? =] You can win as much as you want. Well kind of… 

Wow 5 Swag packs and 120 Books!!
Here’s the list of books


Here ya go:
If you get –

35 followers = 2 ebook of your choice

60 followers = 5 ebooks of your choice

75 followers7 ebooks of your choice

100 followers = 10 ebooks of your choice



There will be 5 winners for the prize packs. 
1st place– Swag + 3 book of choice + one of Lee Ann Sontheimer Murphy’s paranormal romances (Wolfe’s Lady, Love Tattoo, or Love Scars) + a copy of Heavenly and a T-shirt.
2nd place– Swag + 2 book of choice + one of Lee Ann Sontheimer Murphy’s contemporary romances(Love Never Fails or Kinfolk)
3rd place– Swag + 1 Book of choice
4th place– Swag + 2 ebooks of choice
5th place– Swag + 1 ebook of choice


Fill out the Form Here.
So the more people you send over the more points you get!
Also I will check if you don’t GFC Follow


More important information:
Start date: June 25
End Date: July 16 



If you enter be sure to mention that REadSECT sent you there 🙂

One Month of Blogging and a New Look!

Moth-a-vercery!
I have had this blog up for a month already! I can’t believe how much I’ve felt that it’s grown so far and I can’t wait for the journey to keep going!
A little summery of what REadSPECT has accomplished is:
Participating in a guest blog
Earning 18 Awesome Followers
Getting 12 Lovely Comments
Posting 28 blog posts
and Reviewing 6 stellar books!
Thank you so much guys!

New Look
A few days ago a Remodeled the blog a little bit by adding the purple background you now see and moving the gadget bar to the right side only. What do you think of the change, can you give me some advice? Thanks!

UK Hades Cover Release

Sorry if any of the pictures are hard to see.
Just like my previous blog post about the Australian cover release of Hades (on right) and today (June 25th) the the author Alexandra Adornetto posted the UK cover (on the left) on her facebook page. The three covers shown above (in order from left to right) UK, United States, Australia are all very exciting for me and many other fans of the series, and like said in my previous post, all three showing a darker side of the series with the black and red tones and all three showing Bethany with a man, Xavier maybe?
Which cover do you prefer?  

Australian Hades Cover Released

Alexandra Adornetto shared on her facebook page the new Australian cover (above) today, 6/24/11 a few months after she shared the American cover (bottom left) Both show a different side of the story compared to the cover of the first book, Halo (bottom right.) With the contrasting red and black cover from the black and yellow cover of the previous book it seems like it promises a different side of the story. I am very intrigued by the contrasting covers.
What do you think of the two Hades covers? Which do you prefer?

Review: The Summer I Learned to Fly (ARC)

Teaser from Amazon.com

Drew’s a bit of a loner. She has a pet rat, her dead dad’s Book of Lists, an encyclopedic knowledge of cheese from working at her mom’s cheese shop, and a crush on Nick, the surf bum who works behind the counter. It’s the summer before eighth grade and Drew’s days seem like business as usual, until one night after closing time, when she meets a strange boy in the alley named Emmett Crane. Who he is, why he’s there, where the cut on his cheek came from, and his bottomless knowledge of rats are all mysteries Drew will untangle as they are drawn closer together, and Drew enters into the first true friendship, and adventure, of her life.


Reaction:
My first reaction to this book was how unique it really was. Most of the books I read are more fantasy than this, but this one was still a very satisfying story.

Characters: 

Robin (Drew): Drew is the daughter of a cheese shop owner who’s best friend is her pet rat Hum. She prefers to be with adults instead of kids her own age and hasn’t had many friends her entire life until she meets a boy behind the cheese shop, Emmett.
Emmett: The boy who takes the left over cheese that is left behind the Cheese shop every night. He befriends Drew after running into her while she was looking for her rat.
Mom: Drew’s mom, the owner of the cheese shop. Recently distant from Drew and often working late, making Drew suspicious of whether she really is staying late at the store, or not. 


Review:
This book is a quick and light friendship story between Drew and Emmett. It’s a great story for someone who is looking for something different and likes a good, as the author Dana Reinhardt puts it “Coming of age” story.
Recommended for fans of realistic books.

Story: 68/100
Speed: 85/100
Originality: 79/100

The Summer I Learned to Fly will be in stores July 12th 2011

A special thanks to the Random Buzzers and Random House Publishers for sending me the ARC.